Tuesday, July 28, 2009

Pet hate - UK Bus Lanes

Ok so I know it may seem like I am on a bit of a moan here, but what is with the UK Bus lanes? In so many countries around the world the governments seperate the buses from the main traffic ensuring that the buses and cars can flow smoothly, to a certain degree the UK has tried the same by enforcing huge penalties on people who violate the rules and travel into the bus lane, but there is no fine for buses coming out into the traffic!

Other countries and cities manage this by placing a hump between the bus lane and the main traffic, so the buses only leave their lane to turn - never to overtake!
How many times have you been stuck in traffic because a bus is trying to over take the bus infront of him only to discover he didn't leave enough room to perform the manouver, so he is now jutting right out over what is meant to be the free flowing traffic....

Take a look at the pictures it's clear that the UK don't actually care about the free flowing traffic but more about the fines for violations they can impose.
While I'm at it, the bus drivers drive like they are on a race course, I used to get the 141 from London Bridge up into the city and was often like a rag doll in a childs hand being thrown around the bus (well you hardly ever got a seat!) But what is the obession with getting to the next stop (probably only 300 yards away) at the top speed the bus can do, or trying to get through the lights as they are changing when there is 50 people waiting to cross.
The care of some of these drivers seems to have completely gone (note I say some since I don't really want any angry bus drivers coming for me lol) I have to ask how did they pass their tests, and what the hell are they then like in a normal road car!

I'll step off my soap box now, but feel free to rant as well!

No comments:

Post a Comment