Monday, August 3, 2009

Traffic Camera's to make money!

So listed on my pet hates is the good old traffic cameras, these camera's designed (according to the council's) to keep us safe have been springing up in places that don't seem to have our interests in mind at all....
Lets take a look at what I'm talking about....
Firstly the speed camera, ok let's face it, when these came out we all hated them, people tied chains around them and dragged them away, others put tires over them to torch them to death.... yet they do serve a purpose and are placed only (apparently according to my speed awareness course I did) where at least 3 serious accidents involving speed have occured (my have been speed related deaths)
Yet I bet you can name a road where a speed camera is needed because people think they are on a race track.... I can, my road joins onto another junction that is then the slip road to a motorway, about half mile up their are traffic lights, and, you got it, the w****rs hit the gas off the lights so they are doing 70 or 80 mph by the time they get to my junction as they slip onto the motorway..... the thing is, theres a station there as well so plenty of people crossing this road or pulling out of my road at rush hour, how no-one has been serious injured is a miracle!

Next we have the trusty lamp post camera, designed specifically to increase the revenues of the council catching you doing something you shouldn't, what's more they do put up the sign telling you they have the camera's, but unlike the bright yellow speed camera, these are a lot more descrete and a lot less visible to the driver. I noticed the other day a new one on a stupid no left turn off the motorway slip road.... yes no left turn which means they have to turn right, then right into my road, turn around, wait to try and get out of the top of the road against the gas gussling speed racers above to go towards the direction they wanted to.... very ineffiecent for the environment and our pockets, but great news for the petroleum companies.... Naturally some people think this ineffiecency is a load of bull and turn left anyway, only to be met a few days later with a nice £40 fine and 3 points on their license! Good for the council.... not so good for the driver!

Lastly the bus lane camera, now as my previous rant about how buses are allowed to hold up traffic by coming out of their lane, if we chance entering theirs we get nabbed and fined! What's with not using a bus lane to ease the congestion when you need to make a left turn! Still, yet again good for the councils and the bus drivers, very bad for us motorists!

There is also the us of the Police Surveillance camera's that nab you stopping at bus stops or zigzags, I can live with theses one as the do actually surve a purpose, I mean I heard that the tax payer no longer pays for their christmas parties, so the money has to come from somewhere!

No comments:

Post a Comment